Reverse Culture Shock or What is Real?

I mentioned before that I’d pretty much ran out of things to say about Japan. It’s true. It isn’t. It’s true. It’s difficult. I’ve exhausted nearly every topic I wanted to address.

But what I discovered in my recent writings was that I was looking outwards again, something that hadn’t happened to me for a long time while I was in Japan.

That’s right. Was in Japan.

I have returned to my native country and all that comes with it.

But I’m not finished with Japan. How can one just be finished with something that was such a large part of their life for more than two years? It’s a place that I lived and worked for 27 months. I’ve worked jobs and lived in places for far shorter than that. The people I met there, the things I saw, the festivals, the cultural experiences, all these and much more than I can think about and process will impact my life in ways I just can’t know yet.

So even though any new experiences in Japan are finished, my experiences of Japan keep giving me rich subjects to reflect on. A grand experience like travel, particularly living and working abroad, has lifelong impact.

It’s now been about a month since I’ve returned. Returned? Was I meant to come back? I just don’t know, but that is the language I use. It does illustrate a certain amount of the transitory experience I felt while living in Japan. A part of me knew at some point that I would have to leave and return to the “real” world. As if Japan is somehow “fake”. Or that I was on vacation for two years, neglecting my true homelife for adventure in the great and mysterious land of the rising sun.

Well here I am.

You know what?

Things do feel more real.

Why?

There are many more questions plaguing me now. I invite you to continue with me as I explore this new piece of cultural experience.

Reverse Culture Shock

I’ll be returning to regular updates again. I plan on posting on Mondays at 7:00 P.M. Eastern Time. Just one post a week. That’s it.

NihoniWas

NowHereiAM

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Culture Shock, Reflection, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's communicate...

