One year on…

IMG_3480And then a full year passed! I know, time moves on wherever you are. I’ve always been amazed by time because it seems to move at different speeds. But just like everything else in my life, the past year flew by while never seeming to end. Times like this make me feel like those mid-season review episodes that are so popular on T.V.

Let’s see…. What did I do?

There were plenty of festivals, karaoke, and photo opportunities. There were goodbyes and hellos. There were some headaches and some smiles. There’s this blog that has had ups and downs, and more….

There are plenty of stories, some of which are featured here, but most are just regular old humdrum everyday occurrences. They are my favorite, but at this point, I think it is more important to reflect on what I’ve learned. Let’s hope it was worth it.

I’ve learned that globalization is less about cultural pathways and more about a homogenous way of living focused around macro-economics – the city. I think we should rename it citification.

DSCF1556I’ve learned to adapt.  People do things differently. What is commonplace in one area could be considered exotic in another and the process might be considered “backwards” (please pardon the term, I’ve heard it far too much). It is important to think about these things not as good or bad, but rather, different.  Adaptation is key.

I’ve learned that respect for other cultures tends to be colored by in-group bias based on what you know. Respect the out-group as you would the in-group and approach in the same way and don’t view through a foggy lens. It makes a world of difference.

I’ve learned that Earth is a big place, but it’s a forgotten footnote in the cosmos. There is so much information to learn and absorb, treasure knowledge and people.

I’ve learned that language is a wonderful thing. Perhaps the most wonderful thing there is. Play with it and, above all, enjoy!

I’ve learned to wonder. Not just to think about, but to wonder as a child does at first contact. The wonder of a toe, a rock, a cloud, self-awareness that we are not isolated islands in a frightening event horizon.

IMG_3245I’ve learned to appreciate communication. Blogging, writing, talking, conversing, music, movies, stories, video games, the list goes on. People are the best thing this world has to offer. I want to thank all the wonderful friends and followers that have made NihoniGo such an engaging experience. I hope you’ll stay with me for another year. There will be more stories and more questions.

Come wonder with me

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Japan, Matthew Durocher, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One year on…

  1. Jessica says:

    I love your last line. I love the whole thing (can very much relate!!!), but especially the last line. “Come wonder with me.” Isn’t that what life is all about? Also, yes! People are the best thing this world has to offer. Even “bad” ones. Glad to be onboard your journey!

  2. yaussiechick says:

    This is why I am so glad I joined WordPress because I love to wonder. It’s amazing how things unfold & happen. I look forward 2 reading more of your adventure. Dianna

  3. Congratulations on the journey Matthew! Thank you for the stories and the questions. I’m glad I got to tag along and wonder with you. Sharon

Let's communicate...

