The Ones We Love

Pain. Hurt.

I admit that writing a blog is extremely difficult. It isn’t the writing part; it is the what-to-post part. A blog should be cohesive to its primary theme. Like a story, extraneous parts rest on the cutting room floor.

Time. Dedication.IMG_3008

Cutting those posts or sections is a labor of tough love for the better of the whole. (It appears that I am full of clichés today.) For me, that is every one of the last seven posts I have written in my notebook. They exist. But are they worthy?

Alienation. Snubbed.

They languish for a time in a lonely notebook with the only friends being other likely candidates. They wait and wonder. They question their existence.

Unknown. Blind.

As a writer, process is everything to me. I know that not everything I produce will be good. I need the bad in order for the good to shine. I must write badly in order to write well.

Lost. Rebirth.

Sometimes those notebooks call out to me. Old ones full of dust and filled pages. A piece of paper with meaningful marks on it is a thing of beauty, a notebook even more so. Crack them open and feel the spirit of the pages, the texture, the smell.

Memories. Intent.

Communication is about expressing ideas. It can be clumsy or eloquent. Either way, the core idea is the most important aspect. Some ideas are crusty and stale, but others hold onto a brilliance that outshines the yellowed pages.

Beginning. Ending.

IMG_3007The end of something completes its story. But stories have no end. They are like coins. Spend them and they are gone, left for someone else to possess. But unlike a coin, which leaves you for good and is quickly forgotten, a story sticks with you, changes you, absorbs you.

Revise. Retry.

This is not the end. It is never the end. Dust off those old scripts, those derelict posts, those musty poems, those sentimental journal entries, those unsent letters. Relive them and love them.

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Culture Shock, Narrative, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Ones We Love

  1. Jessica says:

    I really like this. I hear ya on struggling to know what to post sometimes. I’ve had a hard time finding a “niche” for my blog. Best of luck to you and your journal entries. 🙂

  2. Hang in there! Some days inspiration strikes better than others. I enjoy reading your posts and learning about Japan from your perspective.

    • Thanks for the support. I try to be consistent with posting but it becomes nearly impossible at times to come up with pertinent experiences. It sure is an interesting place to live. I will keep posting. Thanks for dropping by. I hope your day fares well!

      • If I’m not being too imposing, I’d really be interested to hear how people are dealing with the fallout (literal and figurative) of the disaster at Fukushima. I know it affects everyone, whether they talk about it or not. All the best to you.

      • I don’t think you are being too imposing. I honestly haven’t heard much talk about it. There are a few fundraisers throughout the year and the media hypes it up a lot but people on the street don’t say much. I live about as far from Fukushima as is possible and still be in Japan. It is a lot like what happened when Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans. I’ll start asking around. Maybe you’ll see a post about it later. Thanks for bringing up an interesting question. Have a great day!

  3. This is so me! I haven’t written much the last few years because college and work took all my hours of the day. Now I have two children, but I have decided it was time again. I believe it is how I handle the melancholic in me best, the ‘old’ stuff I have written is fun to read and some things I remember loving I now think are horrible, and other pieces I fall in love with all over again 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by! It is very difficult to find time to write. But I have always felt that it is an important part of our lives and growth. I’m glad you’ve started writing again. I know it isn’t easy with children but they are such a bundle of ideas! Have a great day!

Let's communicate...

