Maps, Dots, and other Remarkable Things

Well, I missed my Thursday post. Not a good thing but since I was so sick I don’t remember the day I will let it pass.

It can be very scary going to any large city but even more so when alone and in a foreign land that speaks an unfamiliar language. I think back now to my trip to Chicago not so long ago, but virtually another lifetime. Finding my way into the major city of Chicago required me to navigate a complex system of subway connections. It was exciting because I had never been on a Subway before, let alone a train. It was a big deal for me, but I managed to complete the expedition relatively unharmed. Honestly, the most difficult part was hailing a taxi that cost far more than expected. But all went well!

IMG_1861Once again, “official business” rears it’s ugly head and beckons me on another city run. This time to Fukuoka, Japan’s shining star of the south and arguably (this is what everybody says) the best city in Japan. Now, I’m not well versed in cities so I’ll have to take them on their word. I like it as a city but it is still a city and I prefer the countryside. But enough about the city and more about me!

Any successful trip owes everything to proper preparation. A few visits to Google Maps and searching for landmarks paved the way. I was fortunate that the previous visit to the city just happened to be in the same vicinity, so I at least had that experience to draw from. I’ve discovered that my special recognition is phenomenal, which means I remember place and the surrounding area. (Now I need to find a way to apply that to language learning.) Checking the map and pertinent landmarks in relation to each other is key.

IMG_1852The trip was successful and quite lovely in fact. I arrived at my destination with twenty minutes to spare and had an opportunity to enjoy a spectacular view.

I learned a lot from this trip. It is not so frightening to explore the unknown when you are sure of yourself yet remain fully aware of your insignificance in the greater picture. And while calculated risk is necessary, one must not be foolish.

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Culture Shock, Narrative, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's communicate...

