Representative Sample

(Please forgive me. This post has been in the works for a long time. I have to share.)

Today was different. Many previous days I have found that going to work brought a feeling of joy and happiness. But today was different. I found that going to work today brought with it a feeling of trepidation and shame. Today was really different. Not because of any action I took on my part, but because of the actions of another.

IMG_2526I didn’t think much about it until I boarded the bus. Ahead of me was a forty minute ride where I was able to think about and plan my workday. Today was special because of it was going to be a Christmas lesson. A variety of fun games were planned. I looked forward to interacting with my students, my 6-7 year old students in particular. They are a joy to behold. Even when they are being little punks they still bring joy and smiles.

Today was different because somebody murdered a classroom full of 6-7 year olds. We cannot go back from this.

Today was different, yet the same. I sat on the bus waiting to arrive. And as I sat there I couldn’t help but see that my face is different, my hair is different, my skin is different, and my language is different.

I am an outsider.

He was an outsider.

Two kilometers to go until my stop. Everything keeps moving forward. I cannot stop it.

I began sweating as I thought about children lined up for execution. I thought about a gunman coming into my classroom and killing the students and me. My stomach hurt. I thought about how the world looks at this. I thought about my family. I became dizzy. I thought about people who love guns. I thought about people who hate guns. I thought about mental health. I thought about freedom. I thought about the price we pay. I thought, and thought, and thought. Then I breathed.

IMG_2260But the day went on and the class persisted. I wrote messages to the students today praising their English skill during aural interviews. They are surprisingly clever and they can communicate in two languages. No small feat. Then I donned my Santa outfit to take pictures with the students. Laughter and games and contests ruled the day.

Today is different and that is good. Today taught me that I am an ambassador, not just for my country, but for my friends and my family and my job. And still I thought.

I thought about holding a gun. The weight. The smell. The look.

The destructive power.

I thought about teaching. The laughter, the stress, the difference.

The creative power.

Given a choice. I choose creation.

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Culture Shock, Language, Narrative, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's communicate...

