Soaked! Again…

I know I’ve written quite a bit about rain and you are probably weary of it, but there’s more!  Hita’s rainy season is long gone but it still rains randomly and without warning.

Genmai pan pizza!

Genmai pan pizza!

The other day, I went to rustle up a bit of nostalgic foodstuffs.  I didn’t eat pizza a lot back home because of my gluten-intolerance but my discovery of genmai pan (玄米パン) or brown rice bread has opened a whole new realm of culinary possibilities.  Long gone from my life is the classic pizza.  I’ve entered the world of pizza on bread.  It’s pretty awesome!  Slice the bread to a suitable size, apply sauce, cheese and toppings and then toast or bake to your liking.  Oh yeah!

It was late evening but the early stars were already out and twinkling.  The grocery store is a good three kilometers from my house; a short bicycle ride.  It’s a nice grocery store that even features a full on bookstore on the second floor as well as an arcade, clothing, 100 en shop, and general merchandise.  Quite common from what I’ve been able to observe so far.

I entered the store, twinkling stars above, and found the ingredients, cheese, sauce, tomatoes, bell peppers, pepperoni.  The store doesn’t offer genmai pan so I had to go elsewhere.  I paid and left the store.  Since it was getting darker I didn’t notice that the stars had disappeared.  I plopped the grocery sack in my basket, hopped on my bike and headed for the next destination.

Then…

The heavens released a splendid soaking goodness in a torrent of unrivaled madness.  I was soaked from head to toe before I could even react.  Undeterred (since I couldn’t get any wetter), I kept riding to my next destination.  There were others just as wet as me so I didn’t feel so bad.  I pulled up to the konbini (convenience store) which features a full bakery where the bread waited for me.  My shoes squeaked and I dripped water everywhere and I had to be extra careful selecting the bread so that I didn’t contaminate the other products.  I went to check out and there were plenty of smiles and laughter.  It was good hearted and I was laughing with them because I was sure I was some sight!  Even my money was wet.

It’s far too common for me to get caught in rainstorms.  The sky could be completely clear and it will downpour, probably just on me!  It rains a lot here.  It just does.  It’s funny really.  But it does get at the whole idea that depending on a bicycle as your primary transportation has certain… limitations.

But it sure does make each trip an adventure!

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Food, Japan, Narrative and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's communicate...

