Heat and professional models

So here I am.  A strange one in a strange land.  I finally stand out in a crowd.  It’s taken some getting used to.  Mostly it comes down to mass.  I was at a Tai Chi session and saw myself in the mirror among the twenty or so others and I just took up more space.  It’s ok.  It just needs getting used to.  But really, even though I began with that idea – it doesn’t mean that this is about that.  But it does set the scene~

The other day was hot.  It’s in Celsius so I’m not completely sure about the conversion.  I know it in my head but it doesn’t translate to the body.  Lots of sweat is the answer.  Never thought that underclothes, usually reserved for cold weather, would find their way as a base layer in extreme humidity heat.  But really… it soaks up the sweat so that I don’t have to worry about awkward sweat marks in conspicuous places around my body.  The area underneath my chest seems to be a particularly vulnerable area.  So it goes day in and day out.  It was hot!  The sun beat down like a hammer and I was trying to dodge it like a slippery nail.  But alas!  The sun always wins.  Long bus rides from here and there break up the attack.

The bus ride to Amagi (Sweet Wood) was full of rushing air and bamboo forests and the distinct sound of bus driver voice, which becomes quite soothing after a while.  I went there to meet a woman for a job interview.  Success!  A job is in hand!  It isn’t much but it will be stellar experience and the money is decent.  The ride home became the interesting part.  I must have read the bus schedule incorrectly, which is easy for me to do.  That, or the bus was just late.  At any rate, five of the wrong buses came and went and I smartly did not get on them.  A quick question in my newly discovered language kept me from ending up in the wrong place.  But in the end all was well.  The soothing bus driver voice lulled me back to Hita where I slogged back to the apartment.  A place I now call a home.  The weight lost from sweating was replaced by the now damp clothing I was wearing.  The door was there.  Waiting…

What was that!

On the ground a little green creature crawled around in front of the door.  It was about three inches tall and looked super cute!  It was a small praying mantis!  Only the second one I have seen so far.  I took out my camera to take some pictures but decided video could be cool.  The mantis danced, swaggered, and strutted for the camera, even doing a 360 slow spin.  It crawled over the camera and then it crawled on me.  It moved quickly up my leg to my chest and fell off at my face.  I missed catching it and it hit the ground less for damage but with a slightly injured pride.  It ran off to climb the wall.  I took the encounter to be a sign of good luck.  Refreshed and rejuvenated, I went inside.

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Culture Shock, Japan, Narrative, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's communicate...

