Taco!? Wait a second… That’s not a taco!

At kankousai I ran across this booth.

Taco?

The Hiragana says tako.

And let the confusion commence once again.  I felt so proud that I could read the sign.  It said tako, which I took to mean taco because phonetically, in Japanese that is how it would sound since there is no “c”.  Not only that, the booth featured a nice layout of lettuce and diced tomatoes from my less than stellar vantage point.  I got a little excited to say the least, not only because I knew what it said, but also because I thought that a nice, crunchy taco was waiting to fill my black hole of a stomach.

Not quite.

Upon closer observation, perhaps what would have been painfully obvious to anybody else, I noticed that there was a cute little picture of an octopus wearing a headband.  Hmmm…

“Pam,” I asked, “that sign says tako, right?”

She told me it did.

“Does that stand for octopus?”

She told me it did.

Disappointment deepened my lonely singularity.  But I learned something important.

Hiragana represents words of Japanese origin.

Katakana represents words of foreign origin.

Which means, that if it was written in Katakana, it would have looked like (タコ).  I knew that before but now I really know it.  Whenever I see new words written in Hiragana that sound like a familiar word I know to take a little step back to reevaluate what I’m seeing. It’s the little things that make the difference.

About Matthew J. Durocher

Matthew Durocher is a graduate of Michigan Tech University. He acquired his BA in English along with a minor in Music Composition and a certificate in Writing in Spring 2012. His style is one of passion and musicality. One foot is firmly rooted in tradition while the other slides dangerously close to the clouds.
This entry was posted in Culture Shock, Food, Japan, Language and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let's communicate...

